Folklore

December 16, 2010

This semester I had Introduction to Folklore.  I thought it was going to be about fairy tales and the like.  The class was  definitely not what I had expected.

In class we learned about what folklore really is, the different kinds of folklore there are, and how to look at and analyze the different folklore.  We learned that it’s about history and anthropology not just stories and needlework.  It was interesting in a way that I never would have thought it would be and I’m glad that I had this experience.

During the semester we were asked to write a couple of papers; one was on a  folklore group and the other was on a folklore collection.  Below is a link to the paper I wrote about the collection.  You will find not only information about my lovely sister but about her crochet and the beauty she creates with it.

A Folklore Collection

Leave a Reply

